Configure (daddelkischde 2)

Note: The display and the sound work only after the complete configuration. Before that, the display does not show anything and should not be connected to prevent burn-in.

This tutorial will show you how to install and configure RetroPie to work with the daddelkischde 2.

You can either use the official RetroPie and customize it for daddelkischde 2, or you can use the already fully customized ZeroBOY OS 2 (based on RetroPie).

RetroPie or ZeroBOY OS 2?

RetroPie is an operating system for the Raspberry Pi that already comes with many emulators and a nice user interface. So that it works with the daddelkischde 2, a few adjustments are necessary. That's why we created ZeroBOY OS 2, which is based on RetroPie. We have already integrated all adjustments for the daddelkischde 2 to save you some work. ZeroBOY OS 2 only works with a Raspberry Pi 2/3, not with the Raspberry Pi Zero. We recommend ZeroBOY OS 2 for beginners, RetroPie for advanced users and experts.

Installation

Download the ZeroBOY OS image from the downloads or download the appropriate RetroPie image for your Raspberry Pi from the RetroPie website. Follow their installation guide on how to install the image on a micro SD card.

Note: Only from RetroPie 4.5 the Raspberry Pi 3 A+ is supported.

To configure WiFi directly, you can copy a file named wpa_supplicant.conf to the SD card containing your WiFi credentials. You can download a sample file here (right-click on the link, "save target as ..."). Do not forget to adjust the name (ssid) and password (psk) for your WiFi in the file.

Next, you should create an empty file named ssh on the SD card. This activates the SSH service so you can log in to RetroPie via WiFi. It is not easy to create the file under Windows because files under Windows usually have a file extension. How it works: Open the Windows Explorer and navigate to the SD card. Click on "Options" in the window menu "View". The "Folder Options" window opens. On the tab "View" you remove the checkmark "Hide extensions for known file types". Close the window with "OK". Now you can create a new, empty file by right-clicking and selecting "New", "Text document". Rename the file to "ssh" (without ".txt" at the end).

Now you can insert the SD card into the Raspberry Pi and start it by connecting it to a USB power supply. If the Raspberry Pi is not yet soldered to the daddelkischde 2, and you have preconfigured WiFi and SSH as described above, you do not need to connect anything else. The configuration will be done remotely via a PC and SSH.

The first start may take a few minutes because the operating system is still configuring. Also the SSH connection, as described in the next section, will only be available after the Raspberry Pi has finished the initialization.

Configuration

Connect via SSH

You can use any SSH client (such as PuTTY for Windows) to connect to RetroPie. The host name is retropie (zeroboy for ZeroBOY OS 2), the username is pi and the default password is raspberry. You can change the password later with the passwd command.

After you have successfully logged in, you will see the colorful start banner. Below the yellow line you will see how big the file system is and how much memory is free. Size should be about the size of your SD card. If the displayed size deviates greatly, and e.g. shows only a few gigabytes, then the file system still needs to be expanded. This can be done with the command sudo raspi-config --expand-rootfs. Then you have to restart with sudo reboot.

Run setup script

Note: This step is not necessary if you are using the pre-configured ZeroBOY OS 2.

After initializing RetroPie, it's time to configure it for the daddelkischde 2. Enter the command
wget -O - "http://www.daddelkischde.de/downloads/setup_dk2.sh" | bash
and press Enter. Instead of typing the command, you can select it here, copy it and paste it into PuTTY by right-clicking. Now a script is downloaded and run, which takes over the further configuration automatically.

If the automatic configuration was successful, it should look something like this:

Now shut down the Raspberry Pi by typing sudo halt and then pressing Enter. You can then close PuTTY.

After about 10 seconds, you can turn off the Raspberry Pi by unplugging the AC adapter.

If you have already soldered the Raspberry Pi to the daddelkischde 2, you can now connect the display. The next time you turn it on, the display should work and you can configure the buttons.

Configuration menu

In the menu RetroPie you will find an entry for the daddelkischde 2 to start the configuration menu. Here you can configure the services and settings for the daddelkischde 2. For some menus you need a keyboard.

You can also access the menu via SSH with the command /home/pi/daddelkischde2/config.sh. This makes the operation easier with a keyboard.

Joystick

Here you can switch the joystick on and off and calibrate it. If no joystick is installed, it should be off to prevent ghost input. Follow the displayed instructions when calibrating. When calibrating, it is important to move the joystick to all four corners to determine the maximum range of motion.

Battery monitor

The battery monitor shows an icon at the top right of the display indicating the battery charge level. In this menu you can switch the battery monitor on and off. If you are well versed, you can also edit the configuration file. You should have a keyboard connected or do the whole thing via SSH. The changes will only become active after a restart.

Fan control

If a fan is installed, it can be turned on and off automatically when the temperature of the Raspberry Pi exceeds a certain limit. There is a background service controlling the fan. It can be enabled and disabled in this menu. You can also manually turn the fan on or off here. In the configuration file you can edit the limits for switching on and off. The changes will only become active after a restart.

Safe shutdown

Here you can turn the background service for the Safe Shutdown on and off. When it is turned on, and you switch off the daddelkischde 2 over the on/off switch, the Raspberry Pi shuts down cleanly and the daddelkischde 2 turns off completely afterwards. If the service is disabled, then the voltage from the Raspberry Pi is disconnected immediately and the daddelkischde 2 goes off. This is not good for the SD card, so Safe Shutdown should be enabled.

Boot logo

When the daddelkischde 2 is switched on, a logo appears on the display for a few seconds before the output of the Raspberry Pi appears. You can adjust the length of time the logo is displayed in this menu. If you set it to zero seconds, the logo will not be displayed.

Button combos

Various key combinations are configured here which switch something directly on the hardware. To avoid problems with other keyboard shortcuts, they should always consist of at least three keys.

Brightness increase: Increases the display brightness (Default: L+R+Up)

Brightness decrease: Decreases the display brightness (Default: L+R+Down)

Fan on: Turns on the fan (Default: L+R+A)

Fan off: Turns off the fan (Default: L+R+B)

Update scripts

Updates the scripts and this menu over the internet.

Update firmware

Check if there is a new firmware for the microcontroller on the daddelkischde 2 available and installs the new firmware automatically. The firmware version currently running on daddelkischde 2 is displayed at the top of the main menu.

Center games

The left side of the display is hidden by the case and the display glass. Therefore, we configure RetroPie so that 32 pixel columns are not used on the left side. Old games are usually in the format 4:3, therefore they have a black border on the left and right. Because of the left offset, the game is not centered. If this bothers you, you can configure an additional offset in RetroArch. The official guide for RetroPie can be found here.

With the setup script and in ZeroBOY OS 2, we have already set the centering for the most common emulators.

Calculate the offset x as follows: Horizontal display resolution (w_d) minus width of the game (w_g) minus 32. This sum divided by 2 and then plus 32. As a formula: x = ((w_d - w_g - 32) / 2) + 32

Example for Game Boy (356 pixels width)

((480 - 356 - 32) / 2) + 32 = 78

Add the following lines above #include to /opt/retropie/configs/gb/retroarch.cfg:

aspect_ratio_index = "23"
custom_viewport_width = "356"
custom_viewport_height = "320"
custom_viewport_x = "78"
custom_viewport_y = "0"

Example for Super Nintendo (427 pixels width)

((480 - 427 - 32) / 2) + 32 = 42

Add the following lines above #include to /opt/retropie/configs/snes/retroarch.cfg:

aspect_ratio_index = "23"
custom_viewport_width = "427"
custom_viewport_height = "320"
custom_viewport_x = "42"
custom_viewport_y = "0"

Example for Game Boy Advance (480 pixels width)

Game Boy Advance uses an internal resolution of 240×160 pixels. If you double this, you get exactly the resolution of the display: 480×320 pixels. However, this hides the left side. Therefore, if we reduce the image by 32 pixels in width and move it 32 pixels to the right, GBA games completely fill the display. To maintain the aspect ratio, the height must also be reduced in the same ratio.

Add the following lines above #include to /opt/retropie/configs/gba/retroarch.cfg:

aspect_ratio_index = "23"
custom_viewport_width = "448"
custom_viewport_height = "299"
custom_viewport_x = "32"
custom_viewport_y = "10"

Optional: calibrate joystick

If you have a joystick installed, it needs to be calibrated. Open the daddelkischde 2 setup in the RetroPie menu as described in the upper section. There you will find an entry to start the calibration. Follow the instructions on the screen. In this menu, the joystick can also be activated and deactivated.

The calibration data and activation is stored in the microcontroller on the daddelkischde 2 and therefore remains even after a reinstallation of the operating system.

Last modified: 2020-10-04 20:51

Konfigurieren (daddelkischde 2)

Hinweis: Das Display und der Sound funktionieren erst nach der kompletten Konfiguration. Vorher zeigt das Display nichts an und sollte auch noch nicht angeschlossen werden, um ein Einbrennen zu verhindern.

Diese Anleitung zeigt dir, wie du RetroPie installierst und konfigurierst, damit es mit der daddelkischde 2 funktioniert.

Du kannst entweder das offizielle RetroPie verwenden und für die daddelkischde 2 anpassen, oder du verwendest das bereits fertig angepasste ZeroBOY OS 2 (basiert auf RetroPie).

RetroPie oder ZeroBOY OS 2?

RetroPie ist ein Betriebssystem für den Raspberry Pi, das bereits viele Emulatoren und eine hübsche Benutzeroberfläche mitbringt. Damit es mit der daddelkischde 2 funktioniert, sind ein paar Anpassungen nötig. Daher haben wir ZeroBOY OS 2 erstellt, das auf RetroPie basiert. Wir haben dort bereits alle Anpassungen für die daddelkischde 2 integriert, um dir etwas Arbeit zu ersparen. ZeroBOY OS 2 funktioniert nur mit einem Raspberry Pi 2/3, nicht mit dem Raspberry Pi Zero. Für Anfänger empfehlen wir ZeroBOY OS 2, für Fortgeschrittene und Experten RetroPie.

Installieren

Lade das ZeroBOY-OS-Image aus den Downloads oder das passende RetroPie-Image für deinen Raspberry Pi von der RetroPie-Website herunter. Folge der dortigen Anleitung, die beschreibt, wie das Image auf eine Micro-SD-Karte geschrieben wird.

Hinweis: Erst ab RetroPie 4.5 wird der Raspberry Pi 3 A+ unterstützt.

Um direkt das WLAN zu konfigurieren, kannst du eine Datei mit dem Name wpa_supplicant.conf auf die SD-karte kopieren, die deine WLAN-Zugangsdaten enthält. Eine Beispieldatei kannst du hier herunterladen (Rechtsklick auf den Link, "Ziel speichern unter..."). Vergiss dabei nicht, den Namen (ssid) und das Passwort (psk) für dein WLAN in der Datei anzupassen.

Als nächstes solltest du eine leere Datei mit dem Namen ssh auf der SD-Karte erstellen. Damit wird der SSH-Dienst aktiviert, damit du dich per WLAN in RetroPie einloggen kannst. Das Anlegen der Datei ist unter Windows nicht ganz einfach, da Dateien unter Windows normalerweise eine Dateiendung tragen. So klappt es: Öffne den Windows-Explorer und navigiere auf die SD-Karte. Klicke im Fenster-Menü "Ansicht" auf "Optionen". Es öffnet sich das Fenster "Ordneroptionen". Auf dem Reiter "Ansicht" entfernst du den Haken bei "Erweiterungen bei bekannten Dateitypen ausblenden". Schließe das Fenster mit "OK". Jetzt kannst du per Rechtsklick, "Neu", "Textdokument" eine neue, leere Datei anlegen. Benenne die Datei dann in "ssh" um (ohne ".txt" am Ende).

Jetzt kannst du die SD-Karte in den Raspberry Pi einlegen und ihn starten, indem du ihn mit einem USB-Netzteil verbindest. Wenn der Raspberry Pi noch nicht mit der daddelkischde 2 verlötet ist, und du wie oben beschrieben das WLAN und SSH vorkonfiguriert hast, musst du nichts weiter anschließen. Die Konfiguration erfolgt dann remote über einen PC per SSH.

Der erste Start kann ein paar Minuten dauern, weil sich das Betriebssystem noch konfiguriert. Auch die im nächsten Abschnitt beschriebene SSH-Verbindung ist erst dann möglich.

Konfigurieren

SSH-Verbindung herstellen

Du kannst einen beliebigen SSH-Client verwenden (wie z.B. PuTTY für Windows), um dich mit RetroPie zu verbinden. Der Hostname ist retropie (zeroboy bei ZeroBOY OS 2), der Benutzername pi und das Standardpasswort raspberry. Du kannst später das Passwort mit dem Befehl passwd ändern.

Nachdem du dich erfolgreich eingeloggt hast, siehst du das bunte Startbanner. Unter der gelb geschriebenen Zeile wird dir angezeigt, wie groß das Dateisystem ist und wie viel Speicher frei ist. Unter Size sollte in etwa die Größe deiner SD-Karte stehen. Wenn die angezeigte Größe stark abweicht, und z.B. nur wenige Gigabyte anzeigt, dann muss das Dateisystem noch expandiert werden. Das geht mit dem Befehl sudo raspi-config --expand-rootfs. Danach muss noch per sudo reboot neu starten.

Setup-Script ausführen

Hinweis: Dieser Schritt ist nicht nötig, wenn du das fertige ZeroBOY OS 2 verwendest.

Nachdem RetroPie initialisiert wurde, geht es an das Konfigurieren. Gib den Befehl
wget -O - "http://www.daddelkischde.de/downloads/setup_dk2.sh" | bash
ein und drücke Enter. Statt den Befehl abzutippen kannst du ihn auch hier markieren, kopieren und per Rechtsklick in PuTTY einfügen. Jetzt wird ein Skript heruntergeladen, das die weitere Einrichtung vollautomatisch übernimmt.

Wenn die Einrichtung erfolgreich war, sollte es etwa so aussehen:

Fahre jetzt den Raspberry Pi herunter, indem du sudo halt eingibst und dann Enter drückst. Du kannst PuTTY dann schließen.

Nach etwa 10 Sekunden kannst du den Raspberry Pi ausschalten, indem du das Netzteil abziehst.

Wenn du den Raspberry Pi bereits mit der daddelkischde 2 verlötet hast, kannst du jetzt das Display anschließen. Beim nächsten Einschalten sollte das Display funktionieren und du kannst die Buttons konfigurieren.

Konfigurationsmenü

Im Menü RetroPie findest du einen Eintrag für die daddelkischde 2, um das Konfigurationsmenü aufzurufen. Hier kannst du die Dienste und Einstellungen für die daddelkischde 2 konfigurieren. Für einige Menüs benötigst du eine Tastatur.

Das Menü kannst du auch per SSH mit dem Befehl /home/pi/daddelkischde2/config.sh aufrufen. Das macht die Bedienung mit einer Tastatur einfacher.

Joystick

Hier kannst du den Joystick ein- und ausschalten und kalibrieren. Wenn kein Joystick verbaut ist, sollte er ausgeschaltet sein, um keine Geistereingaben zu erzeugen. Folge beim Kalibrieren den angezeigten Anweisungen. Es ist beim Kalibrieren wichtig, dass du den Joystick in alle vier Ecken bewegst, um die maximalen Bewegungsbereiche zu ermitteln.

Battery monitor

Der Batteriemonitor zeigt oben rechts im Display ein Icon an, das den Ladezustand des Akkus angibt. In diesem Menü kannst du den Batteriemonitor ein- und ausschalten. Wenn du dich gut auskennst, kannst du auch die Konfigurationsdatei bearbeiten. Dazu solltest du eine Tastatur angeschlossen haben oder das ganze per SSH machen. Die Änderungen werden erst nach einem Neustart aktiv.

Fan control

Wenn ein Lüfter verbaut ist, kann dieser automatisch ein- und ausgeschaltet werden, wenn die Temperatur des Raspberry Pi eine bestimmte Grenze überschreitet. Dazu läuft ein Hintergrunddienst, der in diesem Menü gesteuert wird. Du kannst hier den Lüfter auch manuell ein- oder ausschalten. In der Konfigurationsdatei kannst du die Grenzwerte für das Ein- und Ausschalten bearbeiten. Die Änderungen werden erst nach einem Neustart aktiv.

Safe shutdown

Hier kannst du den Hintergrunddienst für den Safe Shutdown ein- und ausschalten. Wenn er eingeschaltet ist, und du die daddelkischde 2 über den Ein-/Ausschalter ausschaltest, fährt der Raspberry Pi sauber herunter und die daddelkischde 2 schaltet sich danach komplett aus. Ist der Dienst deaktiviert, dann wird die Spannung vom Raspberry Pi sofort getrennt und die daddelkischde 2 geht aus. Das ist nicht gut für die SD-Karte, daher sollte der Safe Shutdown aktiviert sein.

Boot logo

Beim Einschalten der daddelkischde 2 wird für ein paar Sekunden ein Logo auf dem Display angezeigt, bevor die Ausgabe vom Raspberry Pi erscheint. Du kannst die Zeit, wie lange das Logo angezeigt wird, in diesem Menü anpassen. Wenn du sie auf null Sekunden setzt, wird das Logo nicht angezeigt.

Button combos

Hier werden verschiedene Tastenkombinationen konfiguriert, die direkt etwas auf der Hardware schalten. Um Probleme mit anderen Tastenkombinationen zu vermeiden, sollten sie immer aus mindestens drei Tasten bestehen.

Brightness increase: Erhöht die Display-Helligkeit

Brightness decrease: Verringert die Display-Helligkeit

Fan on: Schaltet den Lüfter ein

Fan off: Schaltet den Lüfter aus

Update scripts

Aktualisiert die Scripte und auch dieses Menü auf den neusten Stand über das Internet.

Update firmware

Prüft, ob es eine neue Firmware für den Mikrocontroller auf der daddelkischde 2 gibt, und spielt die neue Firmware automatisch ein. Die aktuell auf der daddelkischde 2 laufende Firmware-Version wird oben im Hauptmenü angezeigt.

Spiele zentrieren

Der linke Rand des Displays wird vom Gehäuse und dem Displayglas verdeckt. Daher konfigurieren wir RetroPie so, dass links 32 Pixelspalten nicht verwendet werden. Alte Spiele sind meist im Format 4:3, daher entstehen links und rechts schwarze Ränder. Durch die Verschiebung nach rechts ist das Bild aber nicht zentriert. Wenn dich das stört, kannst du in RetroArch einen Versatz konfigurieren. Die offizielle Anleitung von RetroPie dazu findest du hier.

Durch das Setup-Script und in ZeroBOY OS 2 haben wir die Zentrierung für die gängigsten Emulatoren bereits eingestellt.

Den Versatz x berechnest du so: Horizontale Displayauflösung (w_d) minus Breite des Spiels (w_g) minus 32. Diese Summe geteilt durch 2 und dann plus 32. Als Formel: x = ((w_d - w_g - 32) / 2) + 32

Beispiel für Game Boy (356 Pixel Breite)

((480 - 356 - 32) / 2) + 32 = 78

In /opt/retropie/configs/gb/retroarch.cfg wird dann folgendes überhalb von #include eingetragen:

aspect_ratio_index = "23"
custom_viewport_width = "356"
custom_viewport_height = "320"
custom_viewport_x = "78"
custom_viewport_y = "0"

Beispiel für Super Nintendo (427 Pixel Breite)

((480 - 427 - 32) / 2) + 32 = 42

In /opt/retropie/configs/snes/retroarch.cfg wird dann folgendes überhalb von #include eingetragen:

aspect_ratio_index = "23"
custom_viewport_width = "427"
custom_viewport_height = "320"
custom_viewport_x = "42"
custom_viewport_y = "0"

Beispiel für Game Boy Advance (480 Pixel Breite)

Game Boy Advance verwendet eine interne Auflösung von 240×160 Pixeln. Wenn man diese verdoppelt, erhält man exakt die Auflösung vom Display: 480×320 Pixel. Damit ist aber der linke Rand verdeckt. Wenn wir daher das Bild um 32 Pixel in der Breite verkleinern und um 32 Pixel nach rechts verschieben, füllen GBA-Spiele das Display komplett aus. Damit das Seitenverhältnis erhalten bleibt, muss auch die Höhe im gleichen Verhältnis verringert werden.

In /opt/retropie/configs/gba/retroarch.cfg wird dann folgendes überhalb von #include eingetragen:

aspect_ratio_index = "23"
custom_viewport_width = "448"
custom_viewport_height = "299"
custom_viewport_x = "32"
custom_viewport_y = "10"

Optional: Joystick kalibrieren

Wenn du einen Joystick verbaut hast, muss dieser noch kalibriert werden. Öffne dazu das daddelkischde 2-Setup im RetroPie-Menü, wie im oberen Abschnitt beschrieben. Dort findest du einen Eintrag, um die Kalibrierung zu starten. Folge dann den Anweisungen auf dem Bildschirm. In diesem Menü kann der Joystick auch aktiviert und deaktiviert werden.

Die Kalibrierung und Aktivierung wird im Mikrocontroller auf der daddelkischde 2 gespeichert und bleibt daher auch nach einer Neuinstallation des Betriebssystems erhalten.

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 15.02.2020 13:04